Internet Performance for Dummies

Learn all you need to know about email best practices, deliverability, and tools with email whitepapers and ebooks.

Issue link: https://hub.dyn.com/i/567527

Contents of this Issue


Page 17 of 52

12 Internet Performance For Dummies, Dyn Special Edition These materials are © 2015 John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Any dissemination, distribution, or unauthorized use is strictly prohibited. Although there is no formal authority that defines ISP tier levels, there are three generally accepted network tier levels (see Figure 2-1): ✓ Tier 1: An ISP that can reach the entire Internet via its free or reciprocal peering arrangements (known as settlement‐free peering and discussed later in this chapter) with other Tier 1 ISPs. Current Tier 1 ISPs include the following: • AT&T (formerly SBC, formerly AT&T) • CenturyLink (formerly Qwest and Savvis) • Cogent (formerly PSINet) • Deutsche Telekom • GTT (formerly Tinet) • Level 3 Communications (formerly Level 3 and Global Crossing) • NTT Communications (formerly Verio) • OpenTransit (Orange) • Sprint • Tata Communications • Seabone (Telecom Italia Sparkle) • Telefonica Global Solutions (formerly TIWS) • TeliaSonera International Carrier Figure 2-1: Peering and transit relationship between Internet provider tiers.

Articles in this issue

view archives of eBooks - Internet Performance for Dummies